Schedule

Below you will find a daily schedule and event calendar for SSI 2020. Students with a scheduled conflict or who miss a lecture will have the option to view recordings of missed lectures. Special events will occur periodically over the course of the summer. There will also be daily social events and challenge events hosted every Saturday. Joshua Chiang, a Harvard student and social media influencer with 115k+ followers, will be leading daily social events and weekend challenges.

Weekday Schedule


Masterclass Talk


9:00-10:00 AM PT / 12:00-1:00 PM ET


Programming for Data Science Lecture*


10:00-11:00 AM PT / 1:00-2:00 PM ET


Planned Special or Social Event


12:00-1:00 PM PT / 3:00-4:00 PM ET


Conducting Data Science Research Lecture*


1:00-2:00 PM PT / 4:00-5:00 PM ET


All-Hands Lab Meeting
(research program only)


5:00-5:30 PM PT / 8:00-8:30 PM ET


Mentor Lab Mixer
(research program only)


5:30-6:00 PM PT / 8:30-9:00 PM ET

*Review sessions for both Bootcamp courses will be held by teaching staff throughout the week.

Weekend Schedule


Weekend Challenge Event*


12:00-2:00 PM PT / 3:00-5:00 PM ET

Research Deliverable Meeting
(research program only)


5:00-6:00 PM PT / 8:00-9:00 PM ET

*Weekend challenge events may run longer than the two-hour time slot, depending on the week.

Special Events

SSI will host special events for students over the course of the program. Special events are intended as opportunities to share advice to students and foster further learning opportunities outside of the Bootcamp and Masterclasses.

6/21: Open Convocation and Icebreakers
6/24:
Science Trivia Night
7/01:
College Major Talk
7/08: Jeopardy
7/15: Tournament Math Contest
7/22: Passion Project Panel
7/28: Science Fair Panel
7/31: College Night
8/02: Research Presentation Symposium and Closing Convocation

Weekend Challenge Events

Every Saturday, SSI will host a weekend challenge event. All five of the events are inspired by challenge events typically hosted by colleges or university recruiters at companies. SSI hopes that by exposing students early on to pitch competitions, consulting studies, and various technical challenges, students will have an opportunity to explore different types of work and perhaps discover new interests at a far earlier age. Students will work in teams to tackle each challenge, and SSI will help students of the program connect to others to team up with.

6/27: Entrepreneurship Pitch Competition
7/04:
Consulting Case Study
7/11:
Programming Challenge
7/18: Datathon Challenge
7/25: Virtual Hackathon

APPLY NOW